Meeting on the Formation of Research and Development Team for PNP Controlled Chemicals

Spread the love

On February 05, 2020, a Technical Working Group (TWG) meeting on the formation of the Research and Development  Team on Controlled Chemicals was conducted. It was chaired by PBGen. Rommil Mitra of the PNP- Firearms and Explosive Office (FEO).

Section 2.8 of the Implementing Rules and Regulations on Controlled Chemicals, the Research & Development (R&D) Team shall refer to a group to be commissioned by the SILG/ Chairman, National  Police Commission (NAPOLCOM), composed of representatives from the PNP, DOST, academe and concerned industries, for the purpose of evaluation and determination of the explosive potential of a certain chemical.

Furthermore, according to Section 3.2  of the IRR, the R&D shall use available scientific methodology and security information in evaluating and determining the explosive potential of such new chemicals and shall provide the Chief, PNP with the results within fifteen (15) working days from commencement of its evaluation and determination process .

The meeting organized by the Export Development Council (EDC) was attended by the representatives from the regulatory agencies; PNP, DTI- BOI, DTI- STMO, ITDI-DOST, PDEA, COMELEC, NAST, BFP, industry associations; SEIPI, PCCI, PhilExport, SPIK and the academe; UP, Mapua.

The Terms of Reference (TOR) on the formation of the Research and Development Team was presented by the BOI. Said document was said to be forwarded already to the PNP for comments and suggestions.

Other remaining issues and concerns were raised by PhilExport such as the determination of maximum allowable quantity of controlled chemicals covering the transactions of micro, small and medium enterprises. A follow up meeting will be convened at the DTI- BOI on February 19, 2020 for other issues such as streamlining of processes.

Attending the meeting are Atty. Domer Tadeo of PNP Legal, Director Eries M. Cagatan of DTI- BOI and Dr. Rosalinda C. Torres of ITDI- DOST.

Members of the Research and Development Team from left to right with PBGen. Rommil Mitra: Dr. Rosalinda C. Torres of ITDI- DOST, Dr. Fabian Dayrit of NAST, Dr. Lilibeth DLC Coo of UP, Engr. Gretchen Fontejon- Enarle of SPIK and Mr. Nilo Rebay of SEIPI.